To read more reviews go to Newsdesk


Ed McBain is a pen name of Mystery Writers of America's Grand Master Evan Hunter, who wrote The Blackboard Jungle. As Ed McBain, he has written fifty 87th Precinct novels, the blueprint series for every successful police procedural series.

In this original short story collection, you'll see that McBain's stories are not neat little plot pieces; just as in real life, the characters' messy problems aren't cleared up at the end with pat solutions. In "The Interview," an egotistical director manages to antagonize and alienate everyone connected to the movie industry when he is grilled about a drowning that occurred during a film shoot. A circus owner hires an aerialist in "The Fallen Angel," and gets more than he bargained for. The most affecting, famous story in the collection is "The Last Spin," in which two opposing gang members play a game of Russian roulette.

The eleven stories in this collection serve to remind us of how versatile and unique a writer Ed McBain a.k.a. Evan Hunter can be.

Table of Contents:

Introduction by Evan Hunter

The Interview

The Fallen Angel

The Prisoner

Terminal Misunderstanding

The Sharers

The Couple Next Door

The Victim

But You Know us

Running From Legs

Happy New Year, Herbie

The Last Spin

  Evan Hunter